Feeling the Potter’s Hands

How many times have we stood in a church service during the invitation and sung these words:

Have Thine own way, Lord! Have Thine own way!
Thou art the Potter, I am the clay.
Mold me and make me after Thy will,
While I am waiting, yielded and still.

Have Thine own way, Lord! Have Thine own way!
Search me and try me, Master, today!
Whiter than snow, Lord, wash me just now,
As in Thy presence humbly I bow.

Do we know what we are singing? Are they just words to a song? or Are we singing our true hearts desire? Do we really want God to have His way in our life?

A few months ago I was traveling alone on the big truck and could really feel the Hand of God on my life and I was excited about what God was doing in my life. (I still am.) I posted it on a social media network and got a reply from a guy in Nashville, TN, that didn’t even know me. He said, “It’s exciting to be clay when you feel the Potter’s hands.” I thought to myself, “Yes, it does.”

How long has it been since you’ve felt the Potter’s hands? Are you letting Jesus mold you into what He desires? Our prayer should be that we allow Jesus to take His hands and shape us and mold us into a mighty work for His glory. We shouldn’t be looking for glory. All to glory belongs to God and He is worthy to be praised!!!

It doesn’t matter what you’ve done or where you’ve been, the mighty hand of God can reach far deeper that any sin can carry you. He wants you just as you are. He just wants you to allow Him to use His hands to shape you as the potter does the clay.

Two passages:

Isaiah 64:8 (NKJV)

But now, O LORD,
You are our Father;
We are the clay, and You our potter;
And all we are the work of Your hand.

Jeremiah 18:1-6 (NKJV)

The word which came to Jeremiah from the LORD, saying: “Arise and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will cause you to hear My words.” Then I went down to the potter’s house, and there he was, making something at the wheel. And the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter; so he made it again into another vessel, as it seemed good to the potter to make.

Then the word of the LORD came to me, saying: “O house of Israel, can I not do with you as this potter?” says the LORD. “Look, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are you in My hand, O house of Israel!

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

