Tech Talk Thursday #1


iPhone/iPod Touch App Pick

I’m still stuck in the stone age I guess. I’m still using the old “mighty mouse” that came with my iMac that I got over two years ago. I still have an old PowerBook G4 that I’ve had even longer and it has even been run over with a car (I’ll tell you about that some other time). But I do have an iPhone. Not the new 3GS but the 3G. That is new enough for me since I’m only a year into my contract.

One of the apps that I use on my iPhone is the Geocaching app by Groundspeak, Inc. If you aren’t familiar with geocaching it is simply a huge high-tech treasure hunt that is played worldwide. For more info about geocaching check out Groundspeak’s website on geocaching here

I use this app in my travels and find geocaches. .You just start the app this screen will appear:

Select “Find Nearby Caches” and it will list the 10 closest geocaches. Select one of them and you can read a description, view recent logs, get a hint, and even navigate to it. In addition to all of that, you can even post a note that you have found it and it will show up on the website (you have to have an account).

The price might seem a little pricey but at $9.99 it is well worth it. This is a really fun app to use alone or you can even have a day of finding geocaches with the family.

Here are my current stats:
Profile for Herm91

That’s gonna do me for this edition of Thursday Tech Talk. I’ll be back next with with more.

2 Comments

Filed under Geocaching, Technology

2 responses to “Tech Talk Thursday #1

  1. Looks like a fun app to use. May have to download it at some point.

  2. Pingback: Tupelo Geek » Tuesday Tech Talk #18

Leave a Reply

