National Diabetes Awareness Month

It was brought to my attention the other day that November is National Diabetes Awareness Month. You may wonder why I am bothering to write a post about diabetes. In September 2008 I was diagnosed with it and it really scared me. I knew I wasn’t sick and was along way from it but I also knew that I had to keep my sugar under control. My first A1C was 8.7. I went back in three months and it was down to 6.0. Six months later it was down to 5.8. I go back to have it checked again next month and hope to get a good report.

Live with diabetes can be difficult at times but it’s all about control. I’ve decided that 2010 is going to be my year and I’m going to keep a closer reign on my sugar. Even though it doesn’t go high and stay, sometimes I can feel the effects of it going high. I can also feel it when my sugar gets to low.

To find out more about diabetes including facts and myths about diabetes visit the American Diabetes Association’s website here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

