Tech Talk Thursday #6

AT&T vs. Verizon

I want to put my two cents into this argument and share my feelings about AT&T. I think AT&T needs to get over the whining and get off their digital butts and get 3G in areas that aren’t currently covered by 3G.

I travel a lot and I do like the fast 3G data network but the Edge data is fast enough for me. I don’t stream video and mostly do light stuff. Sometimes I do like to be able to talk on the phone and access the Internet sometimes but not often. I also use a data card on my PowerBook G4 and it works great on Edge and 3G but I do prefer the 3G because it is much faster downloading podcast. Also, sometimes Edge just doesn’t want to work. I experience that on my iPhone too.

I have been with AT&T for over seven years. I started out with a Bellsouth phone then went to Cingular and now AT&T. I haven’t had a bit of problems with them and haven’t seen anything wrong with their customer service department either. I’m sorry for those of you who have but I don’t think I’m getting the royal treatment either.

App Review

LED Football

This app takes me back a long way. I remember playing this at my grandmother’s house because my uncle hand one of these games. I played it hours on end and never tired of it until the battery ran out. It’s the classic LED Football. I saw this game at Wal-Mart not long ago but for 99 cents for this app I’d rather save the $9.01 because this is as real as it gets.
You simply try to avoid the defense and when you score it makes the same sound it did way back when.

The only downside to this app is that if you receive a call while playing it just starts over because there is no way to save a game. Also, you only get to play one 15.0 period per game and the score reset to zero. You can either play a single player or two player game and level of difficulty can be easy or hard. The only difference I can tell from the easy and hard is that the time runs twice as fast and the “defense” move faster.

I know that I’ll be playing this game for a long time. I generally don’t play games on any platform because I really don’t have an interest and I also look at my iPhone as more of a production tool. I have a couple of other games that I enjoy playing on occasion on the iPhone but will save those for another time.

LED Football 2 is also available in the App Store along with LED Basketball but I haven’t played either of them.

That’s going to do me for this week. Hope you are having a great Thanksgiving and will see you again next week.

Leave a comment

Filed under iPhone, iPod Touch, Technology

Leave a Reply

