Childhood Memories #2-One Christmas

Christmas time is a special time to me. Although we get caught up in all of the commercial things surrounding it and singing about Santa Clause, Frosty, and Rudolph, we need to remember the greatest gift that was ever given and that is of our Lord, Jesus Christ.

When I think back to years gone by and think about Christmas, one really sticks out in my mind. I’m not sure of the year but it was either 1980 or 1981 in a little community outside of Corinth, MS. This was the only year that my great grandmother came a spent the night with us on Christmas Eve.

Christmas Eve back then meant going to my daddy’s parents house and having a big get together with all of my aunts, uncles, and my cousins. It was a time I looked forward to every year. I don’t remember what I got that year but I was even more excited about Granny Holley coming to my house to be there Christmas morning to celebrate and have breakfast with us.

Christmas morning when we woke up my sister and I made out way into the living room where Santa always left our gifts. The year he a brought me some clothes and on of the coolest tools in the world (at the time), Blimp. It was a simple one or two player games where a red dot when from one side to the other and you had to guess which number (1-3) it was going to go to next. If you press the wrong number you had to flip a switch to release it to send it to the other side and give your opponent a point. It had a timer so you could get lots of points. The counter only went to 9 then started over. Believe me, they don’t make games like this anymore.

Granny Holley passed away in December 1982 shorty after a visit from my mom and dad in the nursing home. I didn’t know it, but that Christmas Eve she spent the night would be one that I’d remember for a long time.

Merry Christmas!

Thanks for stopping by this month. I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas this year. Be sure to spend time with all your family. You never know who won’t be there next year. From my family (Tish, Abie, Jay, Lillie, and me) to your family–Merry Christmas!

Leave a comment

Filed under Childhood Memories

Leave a Reply

