Four Things I’m Thankful For This Holiday Season

I’m thankful for my family

As I get older, I am beginning to realize that family means alot. While we are young, we believe that Granny and Grandpa are always going to be there. We even think that Momma and Daddy are going to be there too.

Over the last 15 years, I have lost three of my grandparents. My daddy’s dad in 1994. My momma’s mom in 2001, the day before my oldest daughter’s first birthday. And my momma’s dad in 2004. I have lots of great memories of all three of these and they will always be a part of who I am. I miss them all but I must admit that I miss Nanny (my momma’s mom) the most. I’m sure I’ll be sharing stories about her in my Childhood Memories post in the future.

I’m thankful to still have both of my parents here because I have lots of friends that have lost either one or both of theirs. I’m fortunate to still have then. I was also fortunate enough to have gotten to know all four of my grandparents and actually knew two of my great-grandparents well.

Just remember that the folks that you call your family will change. They will come and go but you can leave behind a legacy that won’t be forgotten.

I’m thankful for my friends

You might think it strange that I didn’t include friends above but I believe that friends are the family that you get to choose. I have lots of friends and a few close ones that I really trust. If someone were to ask me who my best friend was I would automatically say, “KatDaddy.” I could say alot about him here but I won’t because then you would have a reason to read Trucker Tuesday today. He is my best friend and we’ve stuck it out through thick and thin.

Do you have close friends? If not, you should. I enjoy being around my friends laughing and cutting up. Those are some of the best times.

I’m thankful for my church family

I think I have the greatest church family at Love & Truth Church in Corinth. I have gotten to know alot of the people that meet there with the rest of us. Our band is great and so are the singers. The last time I missed I got a call from Tony, our sound person. He just called to check on me and see how I was doing. He does a great job with making the sound great live and even making it sound good from the video camera.

I could go on and on about the people of our church but I’m sure you will hear more about them in the future.

I’m thankful for Jesus

Jesus is the person that I’m most thankful for this holiday season. He is the reason we celebrate this time of year. Although I’ve read that Jesus probably wasn’t born in December the important thing is that we do celebrate His birth. You could debate all day long about how Christmas started out as a pagan holiday and all sorts of things but we need to keep our focus of HIM.

This season isn’t about Santa, Frosty, or the reindeer. It’s all about HIM. Big business has made the focus on gifts, shopping, and spending lots of money that you don’t have and have to pay back all the next year. We need to remember that Jesus was sent to us by God and he gave us the ultimate gift in Him.

Thank you, God, for sending Your Son to die on a cross for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

