Trucker Tuesday #6

Welcome to this week’s edition of Trucker Tuesday. This week I’d like to share a story that happened to me about five years ago. It will be something that I’ll never forget because it really made my day.

I’m not sure the exact date of this event but I do know it was right before Christmas and I was in Carnesville, GA, at the Petro truck stop. It was a normal evening. At the time, I was working from 7am to 7pm. Of course, I wasn’t driving that long. I took breaks whenever I wanted. I ordered my food and sweet tea. My partner and I just sat there and talked.

When we were finished eating, I went to the register to pay. I handed the cashier a twenty dollar bill. She paused just a second and handed my the bill back and said, “It’s taken care of.” At first I didn’t understand what she meant but she then said it was already paid. I looked at the manager, who was standing behind her, and she just shook her head.

After leaving the register area, a man approached me and asked me, “Did somebody pay for your food?”

I said, “Yes.”

He said, “They did mine too!”

I didn’t know what to say. I don’t know who paid for our food but he/she knows who they are. It was a small act of kindness but was greatly appreciated and it won’t be forgotten by this truck driver.

At this time of year, it’s easy to forget about doing the small things. I can remember many times when my hands have been full and someone opens and holds the door for me. Most people don’t think it’s much but it really means alot to the other person.

Hope each of you have a Merry Christmas! To each of you that are going to be on the road this holiday, make time to call the ones you love and tell them. Thanks for what you do so this country can keep moving.

Leave a comment

Filed under Trucking

Leave a Reply

