Childhood Memories #3-Nanny Floyd

Nanny was my mother’s mom and she and I were close. When I worked the graveyard shift, she’d want me to come to her house to sleep because she just knew that the house would catch fire and I’d burn up.

I have many memories of Nanny. I remember one time, while my granddaddy was pastor of Tiplersville Baptist Church, they were putting new shingles on the house. I can remember those men on top of the roof scraping the old shingles off with shovels and we couldn’t go outside because we might step on a nail. I remember many times at that same house that she would go out and get a switch, take the leaves off, and whip me. Whippings I deserved, no doubt.

Nanny was one of those ladies that everybody loved. I don’t know a single person that would say anything bad about her. She loved everyone she met, even when other people didn’t think they deserved it. It didn’t matter who you were, your color, your size, or anything that could be different, it didn’t matter to her. She would still love you.

One of the things I remember most about Nanny is the fact that she loved Jesus. Nanny’s youngest daughter, my aunt, was killed in a car accident on December 11, 1971. I was just over four months old. I can still hear Nanny talking about how much she missed her. I know she was looking forward to the day of seeing her again but Nanny was really looking for to the day that she could see Jesus. Nanny was probably the first one to tell me about Jesus and how much He loved me. I know her love for Christ influenced me alot and it still does today.

Nanny would have celebrated her 88th birthday this month on the 17th. Sadly, she passed away on September 19, 2001, the day before my oldest daughter’s first birthday. I could go on and on about this day but this post is about the good things that I remember about that special person that God put in my life for a little while.

I could write many stories about this lady but you would get tired of hearing all of them. I just thankful that God did allow me the privilege of knowing her and being so close to her. The impact she had on my life will not be forgotten.

4 Comments

Filed under Childhood Memories

4 responses to “Childhood Memories #3-Nanny Floyd

  1. Anita Reed Marolt

    Your Nanny would be very proud to hear these words about her. She was one of the finest ladies I’ve ever known. She was a very special friend to our family. We loved her very much…

  2. Carolyn Moore

    Mrs. Floyd was my neighbor (across the road) for 11 years and a friend for life. I think of her often. She was a truly caring person.

  3. bobbie (casey) dinolfo

    TRULY MISSED. NO-ONE IN MY LIFE MORE MISSED THAN MY NANNY. NO-ONE MEANT MORE TO ME THAN HER, EXCEPT MY TWO KIDS. IF ONLY MY KIDS WOULD HAVE THE LOVE THIS LADY SHINNED ON PEOPLE, AND GOT TO REALLY KNOW HER BEFORE SHE GOT SOOOOO SICK.

Leave a Reply

