Trucker Tuesday #9-Those Dang Lumpers

My apologizes for this weeks post because all it is going to be is a rant. It’s something that I still don’t understand after trucking for almost ten years. The first seven years were very bad but the last three I’ve seen more than my share of lumpers and seen their rip off prices.

A couple of weeks ago, I picked up some freight in SC and took it to AL. It cost $95 to get nine pallets taken off my trailer. I know all I had to do wall call and get a Comcheck but I shouldn’t have to do that.

I know we all need to make a living but a receiver should not be allowed to charge a driver to unload THEIR freight from his trailer. They also should not be allowed to get free labor from a driver by having him re-stack every pallet to make it the right height to go in their bins. They should have to order the product stacked the correct height.

When are these trucking companies going to stop paying these ridiculous charges for a lumper? The receiver should have to pay for the labor. How many shippers have you seen where the driver has to pay to have his trailer loaded? If it happens, I haven’t seen it.

I would like your comments about this. Do you agree or disagree? Thanks for reading and I’ll be back next week with my first post about another driver. I’ll be sharing a story or two that he has to tell. Hope you’ll join me.

3 Comments

Filed under Trucking

3 responses to “Trucker Tuesday #9-Those Dang Lumpers

  1. Laydon

    I agree with you 100%. We should not have to pay someone to have our trailer unloaded. But the recievers aren’t going to change the policy because it saves them to much on labor costs. Fortunately Shaw, the compay I drive for does not deal with much of that type freigtht. And, like you I have never seen, or heard of anyone having to pay to get loaded. I know Publix grocery stores in Florida was the last place I had to deal with a lumper situation. That was about 8 or 9 years ago. At that time Publix had contracted to a lumper service and we, my partner and I that is, had no dealings with them. I don’t know how it was worked out with Shaw. Be safe out there man.

    • In most Cases,The shippers Pays The Trucking Co. To get the Trailer Unloaded.In Most cases it’s more Than They pay you to unload.or to get A lumper,,,,,Your Co. Just don,t tell you About it,,,,xtra$$$ for them.Last Time I was At Publix,it was a real rip off.,,,Grocers Supply in Houston is the words worse.I,M bARRED From There 🙂

Leave a Reply

