Trucker Tuesday #17-Places of Interest

After being on the road for the better part of four weeks it was nice to have some time off last week with Tish and our baby girl. I know I don’t have it near as bad as some and not as good as others too. I do like the driving part of my job but the being gone from home is not so good anymore.

I’ve been around this country a lot and I enjoy seeing different places but I really don’t get to visit many. Most of what we see as truckers is just asphalt (Reminds me of a joke. Asphalt=putting the blame on your donkey). One of the places that I have enjoyed visiting was the meteor crater out in Arizona. My cousin told me that it was just a hole in the ground and she was right but it’s any interesting hole in the ground. I had seen pictures of this crater in science books for many years and had always wished I could see it in real life. As a science buff, things like that just interest me. My driving partner and I spent the better part of two hours looking around the crater and the museum that is there. While we were there it rained and we could see tons of rainbows but neither of use had a good camera to take pictures with. The only camera I had was the one on my Razr phone and it didn’t take very good pictures.

Another place that I got to visit was the home of Judge Roy Bean, Langtry, TX. This is an interesting little town. Even though you have to leave the main highway to get to town there is plenty of room to park a big truck and get out and stretch your legs. There are some old buildings there and a very nice museum too. Across the street there is an old store where you can buy souvenirs. If you are ever driving along Highway 90 just west of Del Rio, TX, then it is well worth the time to stop and take a look around this little town. The things in the movies about Judge Bean aren’t true. The locals say that is all legend.

Thanks for stopping by this week and hope you enjoyed this weeks edition. If you’ve visited any interesting places please leave a comment and let me know. Also be sure to include if there is room to park a big truck there. See you next week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Trucking

Leave a Reply

