Trucker Tuesday #18-Sick on the Road

As I write this, it’s Thursday afternoon and I just got back from the doctor a little while ago. I feel awful but I just felt I needed to write this post today. I’m laying in bed with my MacBook watching TV and just basically taking it easy. To hear some talk, taking it easy it all I do anyway.

It first started on Tuesday when I got up and drove only two hours before I had to lay down for a couple of hours and rest. It did make me feel better but not for long. I’m not going to go into all the details but I finally made it to my destination and got unloaded yesterday morning.

I was scheduled to go back out on Thursday but decided that after having trouble getting up and down out of the sleeper berth that it wasn’t in my best interest.

I went home and went to the doctor this morning and found out that I had the flu. It was a good thing I didn’t leave out. Here is the reason:

§392.3 Ill or fatigued operator.

No driver shall operate a commercial motor vehicle, and a motor carrier shall not require or permit a driver to operate a commercial motor vehicle, while the driver’s ability or alertness is so impaired, or so likely to become impaired, through fatigue, illness, or any other cause, as to make it unsafe for him/her to begin or continue to operate the commercial motor vehicle. However, in a case of grave emergency where the hazard to occupants of the commercial motor vehicle or other users of the highway would be increased by compliance with this section, the driver may continue to operate the commercial motor vehicle to the nearest place at which that hazard is removed.

[35 FR 7800, May 21, 1970, as amended at 60 FR, 38746, July 28, 1995]

I’m one of the lucky drivers because most of the time I get home during the week. It doesn’t happen every week but I’m thankful to God this week He saw that I didn’t have to stay out very long.

For you drivers out there that don’t get home every week I’d like for you to leave a comment below on how you deal with being sick out on the road.

1 Comment

Filed under Trucking

One response to “Trucker Tuesday #18-Sick on the Road

  1. Hey J, hope you all better now. I get home every week, and usually a couple of nights through the week. I used to run team with my ex-wife. She got so sick on our way to Phoenix I had to drive around Phoenix looking for a pharmacy, and get her doctor to call her in a script. When all elese if I were alone I guess I would use my best judgement. And act accoridingly.

Leave a Reply

