Trucker Tuesday #24-Paying it Forward

Welcome to another edition of Trucker Tuesday. As I said last week, this is one that you aren’t going to want to miss. You may recall back before Christmas when I wrote about someone that had paid for my supper one time. This is the same kind of story but different because I got to be the giver this time. I’m not telling this to brag or pat myself on the back but to tell you that there are people out there that need help and will talk any help that you offer them.

A few months after Hurricane Katrina hit the coast of Mississippi, Yoyo and I pulled into the Waffle House in Gulfport, MS. We were going to be delivering at the port that morning and we had to wait. We decided to stop there and grab some food. I woke Yoyo up and was waiting on him to get up and get his clothes on when I saw a couple (man and woman) approaching the truck.

Now I normally don’t give money to people because I usually only carry enough money to do me for the week. The guy came up to the side of the truck and I rolled my window down a couple of inches to hear what he had to say. The woman stood in front of the truck. When the guy said, “Me and my woman haven’t had anything to eat in two days,” I knew that I had to help. I told him to wait a few minutes while my partner got up and got around and we’d take them into the Waffle House and get them something to eat. Most of the time when you offer this to someone they will refuse it but this time was different. This couple was serious.

After Yoyo had gotten up, we started to go inside with the couple and met a couple other drivers coming out that worked for the same company as we did. We told the couple to go ahead and go in and order what they wanted and we’d take care of it. I went inside and told the waitress that they could order anything they wanted and we’d take care of it. She said, “OK.”

We chatted with the other drivers for a while and then went in to eat. The couple sat on the other side of the restaurant and after they had finished eating they came over to talk to us for a few minutes. The story he told was that he had been working for someone and that the guy had ran off after the job was done and that was how he had ended up with no money.

I don’t know what they ate but do know that the man told me, “I drank two glasses of milk and that was the best milk I’ve ever drank.”

After Yoyo and I finished with our meal we were paying for both and wanted to tip the waitress but she wouldn’t let me. I think the couple had told he what was going on too and she would except a tip.

There are lots of hurting people out there and this was just one time that Yoyo and I got the chance to give back from what we have and we were able to help a couple of people. Every time I go through Gulfport I always wonder what happened to that couple.

Leave a comment

Filed under Trucking

Leave a Reply

