Hojo’s Trucker Chat #26

It’s been almost two months since my last Trucker Tuesday but as of today I am changing the name to Hojo’s Trucker Chat. It may come out on Tuesday and it may come out on some other day of the week but I still intend for this to be a weekly post.

Last time I told you I was going to share about the time my trailer caught fire and that is what I’m going to tell you but I’m going to tell you about the rest of the week too. I have a little something bad to say about the company I worked for back then but I will be nice.

I think it was around August 2006 when this all started. I picked up a load going to Port Everglades, FL. I did drive team but this week I was driving solo. I left Roberts, AL, after getting a shower and something to eat and headed toward FL. I was an hour from running out of hours when I looked back and saw that I had smoke coming from under my trailer. I stopped on the side of the road (at the end of an on ramp) and got out. I saw that my tire was on fire so I got my fire extinguisher and tried putting the fire out but couldn’t. I then called 911 and started unhooking from my trailer. I told the 911 dispatcher where I was and what was wrong.

To make a long story short the fire department came out and put the fire out and used a big front-end loader with a claw like thing on the front to make a big hole in the side of the trailer so they could actually get to the fire.

After calling the company about an hour later they didn’t seem very concerned. The next morning the phone started ringing at 8am ET and woke me up. When the fire started I didn’t have but an hour to drive but didn’t go to bed until 4:30am. One of the first things that my safety director asked was about the freight. He didn’t ask how I was doing.

To make a long story short, it all worked out that I spent the night with my great uncle that night and went to Gulfport, MS, the next day to pick up. I did have to bobtail but it was no big deal. After picking up in Gulfport, I started home for the week and when I got to Macon, MS, I got pulled over for speeding.

I will admit that I was in the hammer lane in a 65 mph speed zone but there was no way in this world that I could have been speeding. The officer told me that he had clocked me at 72. I told him that my truck was governed at 65 and I know I wasn’t going that fast. He did take my license and checked them and, I’m sure, that they came back clean. He then told me to have my company to check my governor and I told him that I would….I didn’t.

That was a full week and enough for me. Being pulled over for going 72 in a truck that would only run 65 just topped it all off.

Thanks for stopping by and hope you will join me again next week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Trucking

Leave a Reply

