Hojo’s Trucker Chat #28

If you are a trucker you know how much free time we have to just thinking about different things and I’ve been thinking lately about some of the stupid things others drivers do. Not just other truckers but even the ones driving four wheelers.

A couple of weeks ago I was on my home from California and was driving across Arkansas sometime after noon. I was driving at my top speed of 64 mph and came upon a truck that I thought I could pass. The driver let me get out in the hammer lane and then he sped up so I couldn’t get around him. I did this three times and all three times he would speed up and then slow down. Granted, Arkansas is a 65 mph state for trucks if he would have been driving the speed limit I never would have caught up with him.

The fourth time I tried to get around him, he let me get my tractor passed his and then he kept a steady speed of just under what I could do. After I finally got around him, some 5 or 6 miles later, I got in front of him and then before any cars could get beside him, he gets out in the hammer lane to pass me and passes me like I’m sitting still and blows his horn as he went around. He then ran off and left me.

I don’t know what that driver was trying to prove but that is just rude to do something like that. If I had known that I couldn’t have passed him I wouldn’t have even gotten out in the hammer lane.

This second one almost cost the lady her life and she probably doesn’t even know it.

I had to deliver a load over in McCalla, AL, and my exit to go to the receiver was the same exit as the Flying J. I was going down through there and was headed onto the receiver and didn’t even have my blinker on to turn into the J. The lady in the car just assumed that I was going to turn and pulled out in front of me. I saw where she had done and I think when she looked at me she thought she had already messed up.

Obviously, I didn’t hit her but her assumption that I was going to turn because it was a truck stop could have easily cost her life.

That’s going to do me for this week. Thanks for dropping by and hope you will come back again next time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Trucking

Leave a Reply

