Where I Was on September 11, 2001

Since I didn’t get a chance to post on the ninth anniversary of the 9/11 terrorist attacks on our great nation, I wanted to share today where I was at that time and how I felt. I know most people that were living in 1963 when President Kennedy got shot can remember like it was yesterday and I feel the same way about this major event in our nation’s history.

I was driving a truck back then and was in Tulsa, OK, getting loaded. I had heard a little about it on the radio but thought that they might be playing part of the audio version of War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells. I was so wrong. I finally got to a radio station that was covering it and went inside where I was loading. They just happen to have a television in the office area and I was allowed to watch. I couldn’t believe my eyes. It just didn’t seem real. How could this happen?

My co-driver didn’t have a clue as to what had went down on that day until he woke up that evening. I was telling him about the events and he didn’t believe me. I think he thought I was making it up. I couldn’t see how anyone could make such a story up. When he got the paper the next morning, he saw with his own eyes the pictures of what I had seen the previous day. He was in disbelief too.

As you know, planes were grounded for a while after the attacks and even when we went to Port Everglades, FL, is was so strange to not hear the sound of the airplanes coming in for a landing or the one taking off to fly right over where we were.

At the time, we weren’t white and black, Republicans and Democrats, conservative and liberals. We were simply Americans but I’m afraid we have already forgotten in nine short years.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

