Tech Talk Thursday #37

Last week I talked about fitness apps for the iPhone and iPod Touch. This week I am going to talk about the Amazon Kindle. I have had my Kindle for about two months now and love it. When compared to reading on the iPhone, I can honestly say that the Kindle is a lot easier on the eyes.

I carry it in with me when I am eating alone at a restaurant and it is better than a book. I don’t have to worry about holding the light side of the book down to turn the page. And I can turn the page with just the press of a button on either side of it.

I haven’t bought a book directly from the Kindle but have from the computer and from my iPhone. If wireless is turned on then the Kindle will receive it immediately but if it is off then when you turn it on it will automatically check to see if you have any new downloads. I have don’t this while on the road too. I have bought books with my iPhone and when I return home I will connect my Kindle via wifi and then my book appears.

Setup of wifi is easy and so are the other features of the Kindle. There are some experimental things on it but I rarely use them because I do use my iPhone for web surfing and playing music. As far as the text-to-speech on the device, I have not used that. I prefer to read the book and not listen to it.

I did buy a cover from my Kindle when I ordered it. I got the Amazon lighted cover and I really like it. The light is stored in the back corner of the cover and gets out of the way when not in use. I don’t use it often but when I do it I don’t have to worry about searching for a light source so I can read.

The price of the Kindle is great, in my opinion. Currently, Amazon offers three Kindle 3, the special offers version, the wifi only version, and wifi+3G version. I have the wifi only version because I didn’t feel that I needed to be able to download a book just anywhere. I keep enough material on mine that I won’t run out of something to read. With the wifi+3G version, you can buy books on the fly via the AT&T cellular network. The special offers version, which wasn’t available when I got mine, is simply just the wifi version with ads. I understand that the ads are not intrusive and are out of the way while you read. Currently prices are as follows:

Special offers version $114
WIFI Only version $139
WIFI+3G version $189
Amazon lighted case $59.99

Thanks for stopping by and if you decided to buy a Kindle please visit http://www.jeremyholley.com and click on the banner ad at the top. Thanks and I’ll see you again next week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

