Tech Talk Thursday #39

As I sat down to write this week’s post I realized that it was 22 years ago today that I graduated high school. That seems like a long time but it really isn’t unless you are talking about technology. The speed of technology is growing a an alarming rate and we have seen many changes since 1989. Most of those changes we could only imagine back then. The Internet was still in it’s infancy and video cameras were huge.

I searched on Google to find some things that were happening in 1989 in technology and here are some of the things that I found:

The first of 24 satellites of the Global Positioning System is placed into orbit

Nintendo begin selling the Game Boy in Japan

Voyager II passes the planet Neptune and its moon Triton and sends pictures back to earth.

The 486 series of microprocessor introduced by Intel.

Scientists pronounce 1989 as the warmest on record possibly a sign of the greenhouse effect

Florida and Virginia allow use of DNA genetic fingerprinting evidence as admissible

First release of Microsoft Office. which was a bundle of Microsoft’s office applications, such as Microsoft Word, Microsoft Excel , Dependent on the Version you purchased would depend on which applications were included.

(Source: http://www.thepeoplehistory.com/1989.html)

Who would have ever thought that computers that fit in the palm of your hand would have more power than the computers that help put men on the moon for the first time? How many of us can imagine living without GPS and hopefully our kids didn’t have to go without a Game Boy.

Things sure have changed since 1989. I remember my first computer that I got about 1993. It was a used Packard Bell with a 25 MHz 486 processor. I upgraded the standard hard drive with a 850 MB drive that I paid over $300 for. I thought I’d never use all of that space.

My first laptop didn’t even have a hard drive and had a 4.88 MHz processor. I used it mainly in my other hobby at the time.

I hope you enjoyed this stroll down memory lane and hope to see you again next week.

1 Comment

Filed under Technology

One response to “Tech Talk Thursday #39

  1. Rob

    My first computer was a Commodore 128 which means it also ran C64 programs. Boy that was back when a floppy disk really was well, floppy!

Leave a Reply

