Father’s Day 2011

As I sat down to write this post for Father’s Day, I got to thinking about some of the things that my dad and I did together when I was younger. One of the things that really sticks out in my mind happened when I was 16 years old.

It was a cold December morning and we had gotten up to go deer hunting. I had been hunting since I was 13. Even back then I wasn’t a cold weather person but I managed to bundle up and go with Daddy. At the time I was using a 12-gauge automatic shotgun that was borrowed from my granddaddy.

This particular morning Daddy and I arrived in the Falkner area where my great uncle lived. We got there and I was in the stand, which was along a fence row, about 6 o’clock. Daddy just told me where to get and he went to where he was going to sit and wait for the deer. After about 15 minutes or so I started to hear leaves rustling and I was paying attention to everything around me. I then saw the biggest deer I had ever seen come out of the woods. It was a doe. At the time it was against the law to kill does so I did take a shot. She went into a field behind me and I stood up to see if I could see where she went. When I moved my foot I made some noise with the leaves and all I saw was deer. I pulled up and shot.

I was already nervous before the shot and was now even more nervous. I wasn’t even sure I had killed the deer. I went to see and sure enough, the deer was laying there on the ground. Of course, Daddy had heard me shoot and started headed my way. When he could finally see me he said, “Was that you that shot?” I said, “Yeah. I think I killed a doe.”

Daddy came on to where I was standing and checked out the deer. He moved the head of the deer and there were the horns. They looked more like goat horns but still it was a buck and that was all that mattered. Daddy field dressed the deer and then he made me drag it back to the truck. I grabbed the horns and pulled it back but Daddy did carry my gun for me.

That was the only time in my life that I’ve killed a deer and since I don’t hunt now it will probably be my last. I did continue to hunt the rest of the season and spent lots of time with Daddy and Granddaddy.

Happy Father’s Day, Daddy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

