Take Control of Your Devices

As of this writing I haven’t upgraded my MacBook to Lion yet. I will be doing that tomorrow and can’t wait. I have heard a lot of great things about it and want to get my hands on it pretty soon.

For this weeks post I am going to tell you about two apps that I use to control two different devices in the house: the Roku and the iMac.

First, let’s start with the Roku. For those of you not familiar with the Roku it is a box that sits on top of our television and is connected to the Internet wirelessly. You can hook it up directly to your router but it works without wires too. It does come with a little remote and you can control all of the functions with that one remote. The hard part is if you want to type a search or even if you lose it like we do all the time. To learn more about the Roku click here. To control the Roku I use the RoRemote. With this app you can control all the features of the Roku just like the remote that comes with it. The exception is that you can type in your search with an onscreen keyboard instead of having to go through going up and down with the remote. Another great feature is that it will work all over the house. Keep in mind that you have to have Wi-Fi turned on and connected to the same network that the Roku is connected to. This app goes for $1.99.

The other app that I use is Mobile Mouse Pro. It’s a great little app to control the iMac. I don’t use it to control my MacBook. I needed an easy way to control the iMac to keep from getting out of bed to change the show we were watching on it. The iMac is mainly just a media center for the bedroom and we watch a lot of Netflix on it. You can use it to control any program on your Mac and can use it to even type on the onscreen keyboard. This app sales for $1.99 too.

Both apps are great and well worth the two bucks.

Thanks for dropping by this week and will see you next wee with my thoughts on the new Mac OS.

TTT42

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

